The little blue box that doesn’t leave my heart aflutter

I have a confession. I don’t “get” what the fuss is over diamond jewelry. OK, that’s not exactly true. I do think diamonds are sparkly and pretty and I still think my engagement ring is stunning (I receieved it 7 years ago, been married for 6 -how time flies!) And I love Cathy Waterman’s designs.  http://www.cathywaterman.com/  But I just don’t quite understand the level of lust they inspire.

Some things are expensive because they work better than other ,similar objects-think the Dyson vacuum. Other things are more expensive because they take more time and skill to make, like the handcrafted furniture from this site.  http://vermontwoodsstudios.com/ I’d fork over the cash for some of their stuff without hesitation.

But then some things are more expensive because they are status symbols.  They say something about the owner, something like “Hey I’m rich!” True, some of these status symbols might also take more time to make and/ or they work better, say like a BMW. I don’t own a BMW but I’m sure it’s probably a more comfortable, maybe even more reliable ride than my old  Hyundai Santa Fe. And I’m sure an Hermes Birkin is a perfectly lovely bag made out of some baby animal’s supple, young hide  with mind blowingly  even stitching or whatever. But there’s a point at which your money is not going to get you something “better” it’s just getting you status. I mean really Hermes, 10-20k, for a bag? Is it THAT much better? I by no means am saying I am above buying status items. Au contraire. I think about the labels I buy often and I like getting things that others would recognize as “nice.” If I could afford a Beamer it would be sitting in my garage right now. There just comes a certain point where the amount of money being shelled out for a status item seems a bit ridiculous to me and thats how I feel about diamonds. Maybe I’m just cheap but I think they cost too much and now you can get fake diamonds that could fool most anyone’s naked eyes. I wouldn’t  reject a Tiffany bracelet I’d just rather have something else. Vent over.

This post was supposed to be about how I like these lovely necklaces below. They are simple and different but not too “out there.” I admire someone who can pull off the statement necklace. I just don’t think that person is me so I veer towards things that are a bit tamer while still being interesting.

necklaces

One thought on “The little blue box that doesn’t leave my heart aflutter

Leave a Reply

